2012 MN Primary Election Results For Plymouth

Wondering how things shook out for the primary election in Plymouth? Here are the preliminary results.

Editor's Note: The following are unofficial results for the 2012 Minnesota primary election, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State website. Results for federal and state offices are unofficial until the state canvassing board meets on Aug. 21, 2012. County results are unofficial until canvassed Aug. 16 or 17.

Some familiar and some new faces are part of the 2012 Primary Election results.

The following are preliminary numbers from the Secretary of State's website for some races that were included in the city of Plymouth:

Rep. Erik Paulsen won the primary for U.S. Representative in District 3 with more than 90 percent of the votes.

Senate District 45 Republican race: Blair Tremere received 54.36 percent of the votes to beat out Timothy Hall who had 45.64 percent of votes. Tremere received 978 votes and Hall got 821. Tremere will now face off against DFL incumbent Ann H. Rest in November.

• Scofield received 56.43 percent of the votes and Roger Champagne got 43.57 percent.

• The top two vote getters in the Hennepin County Commission District 2 special election were with 41.03 percent of the votes (4,695 votes) and with 16.18 percent of the vote (1,852 votes). They will move onto the General Election in November.

District 2 serves Golden Valley, Medicine Lake, part of Plymouth and St. Anthony and includes a two-year term. There were 10 candidates in the primary election.

The rest of the candidates and their vote percentages included: with 10.17 percent of the votes, with 6.66 percent, Rolf Erickson with 5.78 percent, with 5.37 percent, with 2.72 percent of the vote, Steve Dehler with 2.34 percent and Roger Smithrud with 1.35 percent.

Judicial Races

The two top candidates in each nonpartisan race move forward to the November 2012 election. With the majority of state precincts reporting, as of 12:30 a.m. Aug. 15, the results are:

• Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice: In the Minnesota Supreme Court Chief Justice race, incumbent Lorie Skjerven Gildea along with Dan Griffith will move forward to the general election. Skjerven Gildea received nearly 50 percent of the votes, Griffith received about 29 percent of the votes. Jill Clark came in third with approximately 20 percent of the votes.


• Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Chief Justice Seat 4: In the Minnesota Supreme Court Associate Chief Justice Seat 4 race, incumbent David Stras as well as Tim Tingelstad will move forward to the general election. David Stras received about 49 percent of the votes, Tingelstad received approximately 29 percent of the votes. Alan Nelson came in third with about 21percent of the vote.

4th District Court 22 Judge: For 4th District Court 22 Judge race, Elizabeth Cutter and Steve E. Antolak will move onto the general election after beating Diane M. Krenz and Deborah Russell.

Want to know votes by precinct? You can find out on the SOS website as well. If you forgot your precinct see the map with this story that shows Plymouth's precincts.

(Editor's Note: Don Samuels had dropped out of the race, but his name remained on the ballot.)


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »